Storytime! Don’t be afraid!

This morning’s theme sort of fell together as I gathered up books that I thought looked cute then realized there was a common theme – being scared! But not, like, Halloween scared, just those little things that can make you scared.

Of course, I had to start with my favorite not-so-scary friend, Leonardo!

Leonardo, the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems
Always one of my favorite to do at storytime. I actually remembered to bring my Leonardo doll down to the room with me so he had fun peeking out from behind the book to say “BOO!” and scare absolutely no one. I love doing the two-page spread where Sam vents about his terrible day in one BIG BREATH!

Then I did a brand new find (even if the book itself is 4 years old). I literally walked past this book on display, saw the cover, said “OMG CUTE!” and picked it up. And it was actually good! I love when that happens:


Kiki’s Blankie by Janie Bynum
Short, simple, cute, with good illustrations, this book was a big hit. Who doesn’t love a little monkey??

Time to get up and work out some wiggles with Jim Gill!
Jumping and Counting from Jim Gill’s Irrational Anthem

This song didn’t actually tie into my oh-so-loose theme but it’s always fun and no one seemed to mind because they were having too much fun jumping and counting!
(I love that this song ends with Jim singing “now jump back down into your seats” because the kids actually do it so it’s easy to get back into the books!)


Let’s Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy by Jan Thomas

Jan Thomas is one of my favorite storytime authors because her books always have a lot of actions and humor. Good for the middle of storytime where you have to find a way to get the crowd’s attention. This one is extra fun because I get to yell “EEEEEEK!” which totally cracks them up. (The “Brave Cowboy” is startled by several shadows, interrupting his song, then when he decides a big shadow must just be a bunny, it turns out to be a wolf…but he likes lullabies too so it’s okay).

Now it’s time to stand up as I try this very active story called:


It’s a Tiger! by David LaRochelle

Run! Duck! Climb! There are so many actions in this story, I had to make the kids take part with me. Only one of them went really crazy, the rest stayed in their spot and did the miming of motions with me as we tried to outrun a hungry (?) tiger — or maybe he is just sleepy and wants someone to rub his belly. See, nothing to be afraid of after all!


I’m a Shark by Bob Shea

This one is sorta on the borderline of being able to do at storytime because the Shark is conversing with little crabs so it can make a little tricky. I shortened a few pages (when he talks about the bear and if he has a creepy spider with him). I could hear the parents giggling more than the kids at the end but I think that is because they were kinda done, it had been 25 minutes.

And then we made a really simple paper bag puppet that had nothing to do with anything (but I had 70 kids the week before and I wanted something I could duplicate quickly if it happened again…which it did.)

Leave a Reply

