storytime – librarian’s choice

It was the end of my storytime run AND the day after a holiday weekend, so needless to say I sorta threw together this pile of books at the last minute. But most of them went over well, even with 63 preschoolers in the room!

I started with the most complex book in the pile:


Brief Thief by Michael Escoffier and Kris Di Giacomo
There is underwear on the cover and a lizard that has to go poo and finds himself without any toilet paper. I was worried they wouldn’t get it but when I flipped to the last page that revealed the twist ending, the giggles let me know the joke was clear.

This one might have been a bit too weird:


There Was an Odd Princes Who Swallowed a Pea by Jennifer Ward
This might be more fun as a flannel board or something. Or maybe the fact that they are still PreK and not as familiar with the “I Know an Old Lady” rhyme as older kids made this book just a bit much for them. Would be really hilarious if I had a burping sound effect…

Song and Dance time!

Jump Up, Turn Around by Jim Gill

And now a couple of classics.


Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? by Eric Carle
I had found some cut-outs on sticks that went along with this story and wanted to give them a try. I had the kids ask me “what do you hear” each time and they caught on after the third animal and did it without prompting. It as cute and fun.


From Head to Toe by Eric Carle
This book is so great when the kids are getting wiggly. They act out what the animals do and they really go into it. Definitely a crowd-pleaser.


Under Ground by Denise Fleming
I am not good at these kinds of books at storytime. Someone else must be because they put it on the shelf, but when you have 60+ kids of varying ages, these one word a page book do not go over well.


Lots of Dots by Craig Frazier
I picked this book because it went really well with my craft but it happened to also be a great read-aloud! I kept asking the kids to identify what the different dots represented. They would go above and beyond, pointing out all the dots (for example: the eggs in one picture were sitting on a round plate so one of the little girls called out that the plate was also a dot).

After we were done, the craft was to use lots of dots to create their own picture. We had some really creative kids! Will definitely use this book/craft combo one again!

Leave a Reply

