“Wewease the seeecwet weapon!”

(bonus points if you know what movie I’m referencing in the post title)

I’m a geek and I love showing off my fandom pride. I love finding lanyards to wear to work to hold my name badge and, more importantly, stick my geeky buttons to represent a few of my favorite things:

My secret weapons

There have been some wonderful unintended consequences to wearing these buttons!

I wish I could tell you how many kids and teens ask me “Is that a Dalek pin?” while I’m helping them find a book. I’ve lost count. But it gives me a great way to break the ice with them and show them that librarians are people too, and we enjoy some of the same things they do. Talking to a teen about Doctor Who one day can make them feel comfortable approaching you for help on another day.

Same goes for my Mockingjay pin, which I’ve had compliments on from both teens and adults. I love the series and it gives me a chance to talk to them about young adult literature and usually upcoming programs (like our Catching Fire program, coming November 26th, just after the movie is released! Mark you calendars now!)

I also have an R2-D2 (a good way to show street cred to prove to the kids that you really are a Star Wars fan and not an adult pretending to “get it”), and my Greendale College lanyard (which I have retired for awhile because it was starting to get a little bit icky) was another fun one. I had many people ask where Greendale was but I had a few sly “Human Beings” who called me out on it.

I know it may sound silly – of course librarians are people too – but these little things can make you more approachable, take away that aura of “stuffiness” that seems to come with being a Librarian, and also make great conversation starters.

Leave a Reply

