Booktalking George, by Alex Gino: It kind of takes a village

A beautiful example of the school librarian and teachers working together to help create more informed students. BRAVO magpie!

The Magpie Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Modern Life and Etiquette

When I started this blog, I was a public librarian with a clear mission for what I wanted to write about here. Now that I’m a school librarian who is settling into a whole new work culture, it’s become less apparent to me what I’m supposed to talk about on this blog, except to say, “This is really different from my last job and sometimes it feels like I have no idea what I am doing.” Though I have been a school librarian for almost 6 months, it somehow only feels like a couple of days. The newness has not worn off yet. Hence, the lack of blog posts.

I thought I would talk about how George, by Alex Gino, became a project that much of our Upper School became involved in: 2 sixth grade classes, me (the librarian), several teachers, and the school psychologist. It all…

View original post 1,925 more words

Leave a Reply

